What is the Kerry Public Participation Network?

Kerry Public Participation Network has been established to enable people and community groups in Co Kerry to have a say on issues that concern them. These Public Participation Networks (PPNs) are new structures for public engagement and participation in Local Government in each Local Authority area. 

4 Trallers Centre at Tralee Pride of PlaceThe PPN is the mechanism through which the Local Authority links/engages with the broader community sector and are the representative voice of the community and voluntary, social inclusion and environmental sectors.

The main role of the PPN is to form a network bringing together all community and voluntary groups, social inclusion groups, and environmental interest groups. Information is shared and people can work together on policy matters.

The PPN also facilitates groups to nominate representatives to local authority policy making boards and committees including the Local Community Development Committee (LCDC) and Strategic Policy Committees (SPCs).

The national guidelines define the types of groups that can register for the PPN structure as follows:

  • Environmental – Organisations whose primary activities are environmental protection and/or environmental sustainability.
  • Social Inclusion – Organisations whose activities focus on social inclusion, social justice and/or equality. Examples include organisations which aim to support people with a disability, refugees and asylum seekers, older people, women, young people and those living in poverty.
  • Community & Voluntary – Any organisation whose primary activities are other than those listed above belong in this category.


When a group registers it becomes part of the County PPN Structure. Registration is easy. Please complete the Registration Form on the home page. There is no charge. Registered groups receive regular updates, information on funding opportunities and also benefit from the group insurance scheme.


County PPN

Kerry PPN MeetingEvery organisation that registers becomes part of the County PPN. All registered environmental, social inclusion, voluntary and community groups in Co Kerry are invited to become part of this structure. A County Plenary Meeting is when all registered Groups are invited to a County Meeting. At these meetings information is shared and it is also at Co PPN level that elections take place to the PPN Secretariat and to other bodies.


Municipal District PPN

In Co. Kerry there are 4 Municipal Districts; Tralee, Listowel, Killarney, South & West (see section on Municipal Districts). Each Municipal District has its own PPN. When registering, organisations select which municipal district they are located in. If you are engaged county wide please register in all 4 areas. The ruling body of the Municipal District PPN is called the Plenary and is made up of all registered community,: environmental and voluntary organisations in the District.

The Municipal District PPN has the freedom to engage as it sees fit in whatever way it wishes to promote local development and in this way it can harness local capacity and strengthen local development in a very real manner. The Municipal District PPN also elects members to the Secretariat.

When an organisation/group joins the PPN, they select the type of group that best describes their work and the Municipal District that they are based in.


The Secretariat

Each County PPN has a Secretariat. This Secretariat comprises of one representative from each Municipal Area and at least two representatives from each of the Electoral colleges of Community, Social Inclusion and Environment.

The Plenary of the PPN elects the Secretariat.

The Kerry PPN Secretariat is an elected body whose role is to:

  • Facilitate the implementation of the decisions of the Plenary
  • Ensure the proper functioning of the PPN
  • Co-ordinate activities of the PPN
  • Communicate extensively and regularly with all PPN members and in this process disseminate information concerning all PPN activities as widely as possible


There are 10 members on the Kerry PPN Secretariat. The Plenary of each of the 4 Municipal District PPNs elected 1 member to the Secretariat. The other members are elected by the 3 electoral colleges of the County PPN who each nominate 2 members to the Secretariat. The Secretariat meets on a bi-monthly basis.


Municipal District Representation Tralee Killarney Listowel South & West

Wharton Slattery

Charlie Farrelly Matt Mooney  

Mary Granfield



Sectoral Representation on the Public Participation Network Secretariat

Social Inclusion Sector/College

(2 Seats)

Environment Sector/College

(2 Seats)

Community & Voluntary Sector/College

(2 Seats)


John Spillane, Kerry Stars, Special Olympics.



Catherine McMullin, Kerry Branch, An Taisce.



Matt Mooney, Glór na Gael, Listowel.


Maura Fitzgerald, Sean Cháirde, Older Persons Network.


Niamh Ní Dhúill, Transition Kerry. William Morrell, Knocknagoshel Sports & Recreation Association.


Linkage Groups

Linkage Groups are information and support groups set up to support the representatives elected on to the different committees. Set up on a thematic basis members can discuss and develop policy. These Linkage Groups are open to members of all PPN affiliated groups/organisations and people that feel that they can contribute to the topic or issues being discussed.


Kerry PPN Representations on various bodies

Strategic Policy Committees (9 Seats)

Strategic Policy Committee
Social Inclusion Sector/College
Environment Sector/College
Community & Voluntary Sector/College
Ionadaí na Gaeilge
Economic Development & Enterprise SPC (1 Seat)
(1 Seat)

Catherine McMullin, Kerry Branch of An Taisce.

Operations SPC (1 Seat)
(1 Seat)

Michael O’Gorman, Duagh Irish Rural Link.

Tourism, Culture, Arts & Recreation SPC (4 Seats)
(1 Seat)

John O’Sullivan, St. Vincent de Paul, Castleisland.

(1 Seat)

Marian Relihan, North Kerry Organic Association.

(1 Seat)

Tadgh O’Donoghue, Kilgarvan Community Council.

(1 Seat)

Pádraig Mac Fherghusa, Cathaoirleach Chraobh Thrá Lí, Chonradh na Gaeilge.

Quality of Life SPC  (3 Seats)
(1 Seat)

Margaret Wrenn, Killorglin Family Resource Centre.

(1 Seat)

Kate Carmody, I.O.F.G.A., Kerry Association of An Taisce.



Kerry Joint Policing Committee (4 Seats)

Municipal District
Listowel (1 Seat) Seán Quinlan, Rattoo Heritage Society.
Tralee (1 Seat) William Morrell, Knocknagoshel Sports & Recreation Association.
Killarney (1 Seat) Connie O’Leary, Ballyspillane Residents Association.
South & West Kerry (1 Seat) Seán Roche, Cromane Community Field & Playground Development Ltd.